Try, Try Again

Today is Good Friday. It is good for me and you because all the bad we have done was accounted for on a Friday a couple of thousand years ago.

The thing about Good Friday is that it reminds me that I am a failure. That I messed up. That I mess up. That I will probably mess up again.

But as I reflect on Jesus. Think about him more. Learn more about his life. Learn more about how he believes I can become like him…I get excited.

So I realize I am a failure and I learn that I don’t have to be one all the time.

In God’s grace he allows those two things to overlap. He allows me to continue living. He allows me to try again.

God allows me to progress, and regress, through life.

It is beautiful and it is good. Today is going to again be a Good Friday.

 

Thanks Jessica for the image above.

4 Comments

Filed under About John, What I'm Learning

4 responses to “Try, Try Again

  1. Catherine

    John I’m really not trying to be snarky, but I’m concerned that your Good Friday post is mostly about you and your own progress, or lack thereof. The view of the cross you’ve described here makes Jesus out to be a mere mechanism for our own self improvement rather than the redeemer of all creation. The real progress happens when our minds are turned to the perfection of Christ and his completion of the work of atonement. Indeed, this is the whole of our hope for any measure of sanctification. And not only that but our justification and our glorification as well. Good Friday is not primarily about making us better today. The real message is one of ultimate victory over sin and death, which no amount of your own progress can win. I don’t think you’ve said anything untrue here – but I do think you’ve missed the point.

    • Catherine, I love your persister response.

      I think you know that I believe in the “ultimate victory over sin and death.” If you don’t, know that I do.

      But yet I still sin. I know that truth in my head, but yet I still choose a lie.

      What I continue you to learn year after year after year is a deeper understanding of that “ultimate victory”, in the midst of my failures.

      The Cross is all about me. And all about you. And all about all of us. Jesus was still perfect and the son of God if he went on the cross or not.

      I can not make the cross any more powerful or less powerful with my actions or my beliefs. It is already supremely powerful.

      But I can learn more about it’s power, in the midst of my failures. And over time I can become more like Jesus.

      Not more saved or less saved. Not more forgiven or less forgiven. But more like Jesus.

  2. Catherine

    John,

    Just read something that makes my point more clearly than I did:

    “Whatever else this day is about, whatever else we remember on Good Friday, whatever else you find moving or inspiring or motivational or spiritual about this day – none of it matters and none of it holds together unless this is true: that on the cross Christ redeemed from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us.” – Kevin deYoung

    Again, I don’t think what you said is wrong or untrue. But it is a meditation for another day. On the day in which we remember the Lord crucified, may our minds – if for a moment God would grant it! – be turned away from ourselves and to the glory of his own body, broken and bleeding and bringing peace.

    But since you’ve got me pegged as a persister, I’ll go ahead and meet all your expectations, because this one I can’t let go: The cross is most emphatically not about us. Yes, Jesus is the perfect, eternal 2nd person of the Trinity, and that was true for all eternity before he went to the cross. But because he is God’s son, he did go to the cross. The cross is most emphatically about HIM – a glorious display of God’s character: his love, wrath, justice, mercy, holiness. And yet, the cross is for us. We are the undeserving and grateful recipients of the blessings that could come to us only by way of the cross. But we are not the point of the cross, not the reason for it. I think I’m talking about more than semantics here. But, perhaps you disagree.

    Ok, you get the last word! I promise I won’t post again…. And yes, John, I know that you are my brother, and I am thankful for your work and your family and your commitment.

    I hope your Easter was lovely!

    Catherine

Leave a Reply

