Why I’m Leaving Fellowship

April 30th will be my last day on Fellowship Staff.

That may come as a shock to some of you, but if you know me and when you hear the details, it should all make sense.

I have been on staff at Fellowship for four years. We have been members for six. Those pioneering years were so much fun. What I have loved most is being apart of the trail blazing of starting and creating the church, its culture, and structure.

I have really found out a lot about my gifting and wiring through these past years. I love dreaming, initiating, creating, and problem solving.

In January, I started a discussion with John Bryson, an Elder, Directional Leader, and a Founding Pastor of Fellowship, as well as my mentor for the past 10 years. I started asking him about how best for me to invest my skill set, that I developed in my 20s, into the Kingdom during my 30s and 40s.

Over a couple of weeks we started dreaming about he and I working together with an organization he has overseen called City Leadership. The purpose of City Leadership, in short, is to catalyze leaders and resources with opportunities to bless the City of Memphis and tackle some of the city’s issues and capitalizing on some of our city’s strengths. I know that it is a little ambiguous, but trust me, it is going to be awesome.

We announced this to some of our core leadership last Sunday, and to the body at Fellowship Downtown today. More information to come as the story unfolds.

As for Fellowship Memphis, and my roles there….

Pastor of Fellowship DowntownRicky Jenkins, who is an amazing pastor, will move from the Residency to being a Directional Leader and the Outpost Pastor of Downtown. This is a HUGE win for Downtown to have an Outpost Pastor with his skill set and this will be his only job description.

Director of Central Services – all the communications, events, and operations of Fellowship will be falling on the shoulders of new hire Mike Cruser. He brings two decades of experience from North Carolina to Fellowship. He officially started April 1, but will be moving to Memphis this week.

I am so excited, Fellowship is excited, Ricky is excited, and the team at City Leadership is excited.

Pray for all of us as we navigate this win-win-win-win!

4 Comments

Filed under About John, Fellowship Downtown, Fellowship Memphis, Leadership, Memphis, The Church, Update

4 responses to “Why I’m Leaving Fellowship

  1. Wow. This is a big move.

    Excited for you and your family – and excited for the potential for our city!

  2. Pingback: Hitting 1000 « John Carroll's BLOG

Leave a Reply

