Some Love What They Do, Others Love Who They Do It For

This morning as I was reading scripture, through Mark specifically, and I just couldn’t help but realize that Jesus didn’t love traveling, teaching, healing, discipling. He didn’t love what he was doing, he was loving the people he was doing it for. So he did whatever he could to love them.

I know people that love leadership, so they invest in people. I know people that love preaching, so they pastor churches. I know people that love singing, so they lead worship.

But I also know people that love people, so they lead. And others that love people, so they preach. And even others that love people, so they sing.

People shouldn’t love the trenches, they should love people so much they are willing to spend their entire lives in the trenches.

I planned on writing all about this topic today, but then I saw this video from Matt Chandler, that was recorded prior to his surgery this past Friday, and I thought I would let it simply give you an example of someone who loves people, so he gets in the trenches.

You have to go to The Village website to watch the video.

I am going to go ahead and say this video is powerful, strong, beautiful, and heartbreaking…all at the same time. But what makes it great is not his words or his leadership or his courage, but that all those things flow out of his love.

Leave a comment

Filed under About John, Friends & Family, Leadership, Reviews, The Church, Theology, Update, What I'm Learning

Leave a Reply

