Solo Retreat Video

I have debated for a while about sharing this because this is my personal time with Jesus.

As I disciple my guys, I can show them what I do when they are with me, but I can’t be on a solo retreat and have them with me. So I did a time lapse recording of my 24 hours at St Columba last month and then showed it to the guys so they could see what a solo retreat is like.

I have been getting more and more questions about what a solo retreat looks like and I am realizing that people are having a hard time picturing themselves alone for 24 hours.

I share the video below to help you all get a peek into what it might be like for you to go spend some alone time with Jesus.

Just so you can understand…this program on my computer takes a photo of the room every 30 seconds and then I just play them all together as a video.  Also, what I do on my solo retreat isn’t necessarily what you have to do or even should do. Just trying to take some of the mystery out of it for you and hopefully encourage you to take the leap.

More Details on Solo Retreats

Some more details

2 Comments

Filed under About John, Get Involved

2 responses to “Solo Retreat Video

  1. Thanks for sharing this. It’s good to see the nuts and bolts of something like this that you hear about, but never grasp.

    I’m curious to know how this works in terms of family life? Basically – how’d your wife let you do this? Being away for 24 hours can be quite a while in family time.

    You are an inspiration – stay the course.

  2. Good Question David,

    We usually do it 5pm to 5pm. I say we, because we make time for Ashleigh to go as often as I go.

    In an ideal world, we would each go every month, but often it becomes every other month for each of us, so one of us goes each month.

    We usually go on Thursday nights to Friday afternoon. I get my work done that week by then by going in early a morning or two and staying up a little late one night.

    The point is though, whatever the sacrifice….the time with Jesus is just so valuable. We are willing to do whatever it takes to make sure that we get that time.

Leave a Reply

