The Hooray! Zone

What I loved most about my three years in the Residency at Fellowship was figuring out my sweet spot. There are several things I can do. There are several things I want to do. And there are several things I can get someone to pay me to do. But where I want to spend the bulk of my life is finding that sweet spot that is the perfect blend of all three.

Bud Caddell calls this area of life the “Hooray!” Zone and he made an awesome diagram to define what he is talking about.

Here is the diagram:

Hooray!

To get to the Hooray Zone, we have to:

  • Define what we do well.
  • Define what we want to do.
  • Define what we can be paid to do.

and we have to:

  • Learn to monetize.
  • Learn to say ‘no’.
  • Learn to do “this” better

I am getting really close to my “Hooray” Zone.  How close are you?

2 Comments

Filed under About John, Fellowship Memphis, Get Involved, Leadership, Let Me Introduce You, Reviews, The Residency, What I'm Learning

2 responses to “The Hooray! Zone

  1. I’d say 50% – something is lacking and I’m not sure what or why.

  2. You got to start figuring that out so you can move towards it.

    We have to spend our 40s, 50s, and 60s in our sweet spot!

Leave a Reply

